This tutorial is for the new, online project designer. The tutorial for the Desktop Designer is available here .

Adding Points

Learn about adding Points to the project and how to customise their functionality and appearance using properties.


Adding a Point to the Project

Points can be added to the page's Design View by dragging and dropping points from the points panel in the Toolbox . When a point is added to the design view, the point will automatically be selected which will display the point's properties in the Properties Panel .

Web adding points dnd

Customizing a Point's Properties

The point's properties tab can be used to customise the point's functionality and appearance to suite the requirements of your project. Most points will share a common set of properties, called general properties which are explained below. Each point will provide a unique set of properties that are specific to that point type which are explained in their relevant tutorials.


Web general point properties

General properties

Caption

Allows you to set the caption for the point.

ID Name

The unique identifier for this point.

Visible

When enabled, the point will be visible when the page is displayed on a mobile device.

Bold

When enabled, the point's caption will be displayed with a bold font.

Requirements

Determines if the point is required to be filled out for the session to be able to be completed. The options provided are:

Not Required

User is not required to fill out the point.

Warning when empty

User will be prompted to fill out the point but can proceed without doing so.

Required

User will be prompted to fill out the point and cannot proceed without doing so.

Include in Data

When enabled, the point's value will be included in the session that gets sent back to the server. Can be usefule to disable this option when adding a point that is only used to layout or prepare other points. For example, a Checkbox point that is use to show/hide other points using a Logic point's condition.

Retain Session Value

When enabled, the value for this point will be stored when completing a session and will be automatically saved to the next session that gets created.

Clear on Duplicate

When enabled, the point will be empty in a copy of a session. Other points are copied as usual. Use it for values that belong to one visit only, such as notes, readings, photos and signatures, while details like the site name or address are copied.

The point is left empty, not set to its default value, and this applies wherever a session is duplicated: in the mobile app, in the web portal, when a session is sent to a device as a duplicate, and to the child sessions of a Sub Project point that are duplicated together with their parent session. When a duplicate is compared with, or merged back into, the session it was duplicated from, points cleared this way are left out.

A calculated point, such as a Math point, is recalculated when the copy is opened, but a copy that hasn't been opened yet still has the old result. Enable Clear on Duplicate on the calculated point too if it is calculated from cleared points.

Guidance

The guidance text will be displayed when the user taps on the point's caption, when the point is displayed on a mobile device.